Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Answers to your questions about the online 50/50 Lottery!

We have put together answers to questions you might ask yourself about our online 50/50 Lottery that take place on all Canadiens game days.

You have more questions?

Please contact us by email at fondation5050@canadiens.com. We will get back to you as soon as possible, and will eventually add your question as well as our answer to the content of this FAQ.

Who can participate? 

Participation is reserved exclusively to people who are 18 years of age or older and are physically located in the province of Quebec when purchasing tickets. The website uses geo-fencing technology to ensure you are in the province, so make sure to enable location sharing on your device or browser to allow sale. 

How can I purchase my tickets? 

Tickets are sold solely online at canadiens.bump5050.com. 

Payments must be made by credit card, using one the following types of cards: MasterCard, Visa, Mastercard Debit, and Visa Debit. 

How much do tickets cost? 

Fans can select from one of three (3) ticket pack options: 

  • 3 tickets for $10
  • 15 tickets for $20
  • 40 tickets for $40 

Tickets are sold in packages as described at canadiens.bump5050.com.

How will I receive my tickets? 

Ticket buyers will receive by email their payment receipt and digital stub listing all the numbers associated with the package purchased.

When are tickets sold?  

Tickets will go on sale starting at 10 a.m. (EST) on all Canadiens game days, both at home and away. If the raffle reaches the maximum jackpot amount of $10,000 during the day, the winning number draw will take place immediately, within 15 minutes of this raffle closing. As all online 50/50 Lottery participants must register with their full contact information, a Foundation representative will contact the winner immediately. The winning number will be announced on the Foundation’s website. If time permits, another raffle will open within 10 minutes of the winning number announcement from the previous raffle.  

For example, if the first raffle of the day reaches its maximum jackpot at 12:34 p.m. and the winning number is announced at 12:40 p.m., sales for a new 50/50 raffle will commence by 12:50 p.m. at the latest.  

New raffles will be offered continuously until the conclusion of the game, at which time ticket sales for the final draw of the day will close within two minutes of the end of the game, whether the jackpot has reached $10,000 or not.  

Where can I find the winning number and what happens if I win? 

The winning number for each draw will be announced on the Montreal Canadiens Children’s Foundation’s website at the following address: https://fondation.canadiens.com/en/online5050

The person holding the winning number will be contacted by telephone and email by a Foundation representative a as soon as the draw is completed.  

How much time does the winner have to claim the prize? 

The person holding the winning number will be contacted by telephone and email by a representative of the Montreal Canadiens Children’s Foundation as soon as the draw is completed. The winner must provide two proofs of identity and complete a declaration and release form before taking possession of their prize. 

If the winner does not claim their prize within two business days, a new winning number will be drawn the next business day. The new winner will be contacted by telephone and email as soon as the new draw is completed.  

Why do jackpots only go up to $10,000? 

The online sale of 50/50 lottery tickets is currently not authorized by law in Quebec. Exceptionally, due to the current situation related to COVID-19 and until further notice, the Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux (RACJ) has authorized charitable organizations like ours to digitalize the tickets usually printed and send them electronically to buyers to avoid as much contact as possible. 

Obtaining a raffle license is mandatory for all organizations wishing to conduct 50/50 raffles. There are two categories of 50/50 raffle licenses granted by the RACJ:
1) for prizes of $5,000 or less;
2) for prices of more than $5,000.

It is important to note that 50/50 raffles with unlimited jackpots are only allowed as part of a public in-person event where the winner must be present to claim their prize within a specific timeframe. 

At this time, as we can only welcome a limited number of fans at the Bell Centre for Canadiens games due to the health measures put in place by the Government of Quebec and public health, the license for prizes of $5,000 or less that was granted to us by the RACJ is the one that best applies to the current context of the pandemic and which will allow us to raise the most funds for our programs and initiatives among youth. 

For more information about the rules and regulations pertaining to lottery in Quebec: https://www.racj.gouv.qc.ca/en/la-regie/laws-and-regulations.html   

Where does the other 50% of the jackpot go? 

Funds raised will benefit the Montreal Canadiens Children’s Foundation in its mission to encourage physical activity and the adoption of a healthy lifestyle among underprivileged youth from 4 to 17 years old.  

What are my chances of winning? 

Chances of winning depend on the total number of tickets sold that are in the raffle bin at the time of the draw.

Can I win more than one raffle? 

Yes, as long as you purchase multiple tickets for different raffles happening on the same day or on different dates. Your chances of winning each raffle individually will depend on the total number of tickets sold in each draw. 

If I didn’t win in a raffle, is my ticket still valid for the next raffle? 

No, the tickets numbers automatically generated for each raffle held are solely valid for the raffle they were purchased to be a part ofand the number of the draw your purchase corresponds to will be clearly marked on your digital stubEach raffle is independent, and tickets do not carry over to the next oneFurthermore, your ticket numbers are unique and will not be included in any other raffle managed by the Montreal Canadiens Children’s Foundation.  

What happens if the winning number is announced but I haven’t received my ticket by email yet? 

Once you complete your ticket purchase, all raffle numbers associated with your transaction will be printed on individual stubs and are guaranteed to be included in the draw. Our GLI-31 certified system will not allow us to close the raffle and proceed with the winning number draw unless all valid ticket stubs are printed in the barrel.  

Various reasons beyond our control, including a high volume of sales, could lead to there being a delay in the reception of your tickets by email. Make sure to enter your email address correctly with no errors when purchasing to ensure you receive your tickets and check your spam and junk mail folders if you still haven’t received your tickets within a few hours of the transaction. However, if you still haven’t received your tickets by email by the time the draw happens, please be aware that the person holding the winning number will be contacted by telephone and email as soon as the draw is completed. 

I think I misspelled my email address when I purchased my tickets. What do I do? 

If that happens, please contact us at fondation5050@canadiens.com with your full contact information. 

Are raffle tickets tax-deductible? 

No official receipt for income tax purposes will be issued for the purchase of 50/50 tickets as set out by Canada Revenue Agency. 

Am I able to get a refund? 

All ticket sales are final. There will be no refunds issued to anyone for any reason. All tickets purchased and entered into the draw cannot be refunded, including if ticket purchasers made an error in selecting the number of tickets they wished to purchase.

Foire aux questions (FAQ)

Des réponses à vos questions concernant la loterie 50/50 en ligne!

Nous avons regroupé ci-dessous des réponses aux questions que vous pourriez vous poser concernant notre loterie moité-moitié en ligne qui se déroulera lors de certains matchs à l’étranger prédéterminés des Canadiens de Montréal.

Vous avez d’autres questions?

Communiquez avec nous au fondation5050@canadiens.com. Nous vous répondrons dans les plus brefs délais et pourrons ajouter votre question, et notre réponse, au contenu de cette section.

Qui peut participer à la loterie 50/50 en ligne? 

La participation est réservée exclusivement aux personnes âgées de 18 ans et plus et physiquement localisées dans la province de Québec lors de l’achat de billets. Le site Web que nous utilisons emploie la technologie de géo-clôture pour valider que vous êtes bien situés au Québec, alors assurez-vous d’activer le partage de position sur votre appareil ou votre navigateur pour permettre la vente 

Comment puis-je acheter mes billets? 

La vente de billets se déroulera exclusivement en ligne au canadiens.bump5050.com. 

Les paiements doivent être effectués par carte de crédit, en utilisant l’un des types de carte suivants : MasterCard, Visa, Mastercard Débit et Visa Débit. 

Combien coûtent les billets? 

Les partisans peuvent choisir parmi l’une des trois (3) options de forfaits de billets suivants : 

  • 3 billets pour 10 $; 
  • 15 billets pour 20 $; 
  • 40 billets pour 40 $. 

Les billets sont vendus en forfaits tels que décrits au canadiens.bump5050.com. 

Comment recevrai-je mes billets?  

Les participants recevront leur reçu de paiement par courriel, ainsi qu’une version numérisée de leur billet listant tous les numéros associés au forfait acheté. 

Quand les billets de la loterie seront-ils mis en vente et à quel moment les tirages auront-ils lieu? 

Les billets seront mis en vente à compter de 10 h (EST) lors de certains jours de matchs à l’étranger prédéterminés des Canadiens. Si le gros lot atteint le montant maximal autorisé de 10 000 $ au courant de la journée, le tirage au sort du numéro gagnant sera aussitôt effectué, au plus tard 15 minutes après la fermeture de cette loterie. Comme tous les participants à la loterie 50/50 en ligne doivent s’enregistrer avec leurs coordonnées, un représentant de la Fondation communiquera immédiatement avec le gagnant. Au même moment, le numéro gagnant sera annoncé sur le site internet de la Fondation. Si le temps le permet, une autre loterie ouvrira dans les 10 minutes suivant l’annonce du numéro gagnant de la loterie précédente.  

Par exemple, si le premier tirage de la journée atteint le montant du gros lot maximum à 12 h 34 et que le numéro gagnant est annoncé à 12 h 40, les ventes pour un nouveau tirage moitié-moitié commenceront à 12 h 50 au plus tard.  

De nouvelles loteries seront offertes en continu jusqu’à la fin du match, et la vente de billets pour la dernière loterie de la journée se terminera dans les deux minutes suivant la fin du match, que le gros lot ait atteint 10 000 $ ou non.  

Où puis-je trouver le numéro gagnant et que se passe-t-il si mon billet contient le numéro gagnant 

Le numéro gagnant de chaque tirage sera annoncé et affiché sur le site web de la Fondation des Canadiens pour l’enfance à l’adresse suivante : fondation.canadiens.com/5050enligne. La personne dont le billet sera sélectionné sera contactée par téléphone et par courriel par un représentant de la Fondation dès que le tirage sera effectué.  

De combien de temps le gagnant dispose-t-il pour récupérer son prix? 

La personne dont le billet sera sélectionné sera contactée par téléphone et par courriel par un représentant de la Fondation des Canadiens pour l’enfance dès que le tirage sera effectué. Elle devra fournir deux preuves d’identité et remplir un formulaire de déclaration et d’exonération de responsabilité avant de prendre possession de son prix. 

Dans l’éventualité où la personne dont le billet sera sélectionné n’aurait pas réclamé son prix dans le délai de deux jours ouvrables, un nouveau tirage sera effectué le jour ouvrable suivant. Le nouveau gagnant sera contacté par téléphone et par courriel dès que le nouveau tirage sera effectué. 

Pourquoi le gros lot ne peut-il pas excéder 10 000 $?  

Présentement, la vente en ligne de billets de loterie de type moitié-moitié n’est pas autorisée en vertu de la Loi au Québec. Exceptionnellement, en raison de la situation actuelle liée à la COVID-19 et jusqu’à nouvel ordre, il est autorisé par la Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux (RACJ) de numériser les billets habituellement imprimés et de les faire parvenir uniquement par courriel aux acheteurs afin d’éviter le plus possible les contacts. 

L’obtention d’une licence de tirage est nécessaire lorsqu’un organisme désire faire des tirages de type moitié-moitié. Il existe deux catégories de licence de tirage moitié-moitié accordée par la RACJ :
1) pour les prix de 5 000 $ et moins;
2) pour les prix de plus de 5 000 $.

Il est important de noter que les tirages moitié-moitié pour des prix de plus de 5 000 $ doivent être faits dans le cadre de la présentation d’un événement public.

Pour plus d’information à propos des règles et règlements sur les systèmes de loterie au Québec : https://www.racj.gouv.qc.ca/la-regie/lois-et-reglements.html  

À quoi sert l’autre moitié du gros lot? 

Les fonds amassés bénéficieront la Fondation des Canadiens pour l’enfance, dont la mission est d’encourager l’activité physique et l’adoption de saines habitudes de vie chez les jeunes défavorisés de 4 à 17 ans. 

Quelles sont mes chances de gagner? 

Vos chances de gagner dépendent du nombre total de billets vendus lors du tirage.  

Puis-je gagner plus d’un tirage?  

Oui, dans la mesure où vous vous procureriez plusieurs billets pour des tirages différents se tenant la même journée ou à des dates différentes. Vos chances de gagner chaque tirage individuellement dépendront du nombre total de billets vendus pour chacun de ces tirages.  

Si je n’ai pas remporté la moitié du gros lot lors d’un tirage, est-ce que mes billets sont toujours valides pour les loteries suivantes? 

Non, les numéros des billets générés automatiquement sont uniquement valides pour le tirage au cours duquel vous l’avez acheté, et le numéro du tirage auquel votre achat correspond sera clairement indiqué sur votre billet numérique. Chaque tirage est indépendant et les billets achetés ne peuvent pas être reportés au prochain tirage. De plus, tous les numéros de billets sont uniques et ne seront pas inclus dans un futur tirage organisé par la Fondation des Canadiens pour l’enfance. 

Que se passe-t-il si le numéro gagnant est annoncé, mais que je n’ai toujours pas reçu mon billet par courriel? 

Une fois votre achat de billets complété, tous les numéros de tirage associés à votre transaction seront traités sur des talons individuels qui seront automatiquement inclus dans le tirage. Notre système certifié GLI-31 ne nous permet pas de fermer le tirage et de procéder au tirage au sort du gagnant tant que tous les talons de billets valides ne seront inclus dans le tirage.

Plusieurs raisons hors de notre contrôle, dont un volume des ventes élevé, peuvent engendrer un délai dans la réception de vos billets par courriel. Assurez-vous de ne pas faire d’erreur dans la saisie de votre adresse courriel lors de l’achat afin de vous assurer de recevoir vos billets, et vérifiez votre courrier indésirable si vous ne les avez toujours pas reçus dans les heures suivant la transaction. Toutefois, dans l’éventualité où vous n’auriez toujours pas reçu vos billets par courriel lors du tirage, sachez que la personne détenant le numéro gagnant sera contactée par téléphone et courriel aussitôt le tirage effectué. 

Je crois avoir fait une erreur dans mon adresse courriel lors de l’achat de mes billets. Que dois-je faire? 

Si une telle erreur survient, veuillez nous contacter au fondation5050@canadiens.com, en prenant bien soin d’inclure vos coordonnées. 

Est-ce que les billets de tirage sont déductibles d’impôts? 

Aucun reçu officiel pour fins d’impôt ne sera émis suite à l’achat de billets moitié-moitié, tel que prévu par l’Agence de revenu du Canada. 

 

Puis-je obtenir un remboursement? 

Toutes les ventes de billets sont finales. Aucun remboursement ne sera accordé à quiconque pour quelque raison que ce soit. Tous les billets achetés et inscrits au tirage ne peuvent être remboursés, y compris si les acheteurs de billets ont fait une erreur en sélectionnant le nombre de billets qu’ils souhaitaient acheter.